Due to COVID-19, the APEGS office is closed and staff is working remotely until further notice. Our response time may be longer than usual. We appreciate your patience, and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Brian Eckel Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1978 to recognize outstanding contributions in service to the community, the Association, technical and learned organizations, as well as to honour distinctive and outstanding achievements in professional and technical fields. The Distinguished Service Award is an honour given only to those who truly exemplify the best standards of engineering and geoscience in Saskatchewan.

In 2004 this award was renamed the Brian Eckel Distinguished Service Award in recognition of Brian Eckel's contribution to society, the profession and the Association.

Selection Criteria for the Brian Eckel Distinquished Service Award:

       Accomplishments in Engineering / Geoscience (35%)

Service to the professions in public education and / or active participation in engineering/geoscience associations, societies, institues (35%)

       Service to the community (30%)       


2019 Brian Eckel Distinguished Service Award

Kenneth G. Linnen, P.Eng., FEC



2018  Louis-Pierre Gagnon, P.Eng.
2017  Dwayne Gelowitz, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2016  Albert O. Munro, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2015  Arthur L. Opseth, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2014  Don C.K. Poon, P.Eng.
2013  Kenneth B. From, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2012  Clarence A. Reed, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2011  Karim W. Nasser, Ph.D., P.Eng.
2010  Peter F. Miller, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2009  Jon A. Gillies, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2008  Margaret Kuzyk, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2007  Myron Herasymuik, P.Eng., FEC
2006  Derrick E. Bellows, P.Eng., FEC
2005  Philip L. Reeves, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
2004  Daniel M. Hogan, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)

Distinguished Service Award Winners
2003  Brian F. Eckel, P.Eng., P.Geo. (Posthumously)
2002  Bland G. Brown, P.Eng., FEC
2001  Frances M. Haidl, P.Geo., FEC (Hon.), FGC
2000  Donald M.J. Kent, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
1999  James J. McCartan, P.Eng., FEC
1998  R. Lal Kushwaha, P.Eng., FEC
1997  Garry Wacker, P.Eng., FEC
1996  Gerry C. Zoerb, P.Eng., FEC
1995  W. Bruce H. Cooke, P.Eng.
1994  A. Wayne Clifton, P.Eng., FEC
1993  Delwyn G. Fredlund, P.Eng.
1992  no award
1991  H. Keith Bowers, P.Eng., FEC, Owen R. Mann, P.Eng.
1990  Al J. Schwinghamer, P.Eng., FEC
1989  Peter N. Nikiforuk, P.Eng.
1988  Oscar W. Hanson, P.Eng.
1987  James P. Hutch, P.Eng., FEC
1986  Allan Tubby, P.Eng.
1985  Richard C. Strayer, P.Eng., FEC
1984  Pieter Van Vliet, P.Eng., FEC
1983  E. Bruce Campbell, P.Eng.
1982  no award
1981  J. Robert Genereux, P.Eng., William R. Staples, P.Eng.
1980  no award
1979  John B. Mantle, P.Eng.

Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan
Regulating the professions. Protecting the public.