Due to COVID-19, the APEGS office is closed and staff is working remotely until further notice. Our response time may be longer than usual. We appreciate your patience, and we apologize for the inconvenience.

McCannel Award

The McCannel Award was established in 1983 to honour service to the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan, and to the Professions as a whole. The McCannel Award is named after Roy McCannel, a founding member of the Association.

Selection Criteria for the McCannel Award:

       Accomplishments in Engineering / Geoscience (20%)

Service to the professions in public education and / or active participation in engineering/geoscience associations, societies, institues (70%)

       Service to the community (10%)  

2021  Harold Retzlaff, P.Eng. (View video here.)
2020  Matthew Dunn, P.Eng. (View video here.)
2019  Kevin W. Hudson, P.Eng., FEC (View video here.)
2018  Catherine L. Borbely,
2017  Rick B. Kullman,
 P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2016  Malcolm J. Reeves, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC

2015  Dena W. McMartin, P.Eng., FEC
2014  Douglas J. Kozusko, P.Eng.
2013  Timothy A.G. Jansen, P.Eng., FEC
2012  Harry A. Sabier, P.Eng., FEC
2011  Albert O. (Bert) Munro, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2010  David L. Halliday, P.Eng., FEC
2009  J. Manuela Yu, P.Eng., MBA, FEC
2008  Philip Olson, P.Geo.
2007  Debra Anderson, P.Eng., FEC
2006  Barry D. Collins, P.Geo., FEC (Hon.), FGC
2005  Prof. Arthur L. Opseth, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2004  Bryan T. Schreiner, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
2003  Neil W. Richardson, P.Eng.
2002  Brian K. Bowes, P.Eng.
2001  Raymond S. Pentland, P.Eng., FEC
2000  Douglas R. Sanders, P.Eng., FEC
1999  Edward E. H. Easton, P.Eng.
1998  James F. Sadler, P.Eng., FEC
1997  Norman O. Woodcock, P.Eng., FEC
1996  Dennis K. Storer, P.Eng., FEC
1995  Karen A. Keily, P.Eng.
1994  Ralph L. Cheesman, P.Eng.
1993  Taras Cheberiak, P.Eng.
1992  no award
1991  Edward A. Wilson, P.Eng.
1990  William A. Bullee, P.Eng., FEC
1989  no award
1988  J. Bruce Hamilton, P.Eng.
1987  Roy E. Ludwig, P.Eng.
1986  Howard Douglas, P.Eng.
1985  Barclay F. Dahlstrom, P.Eng., FEC
1984  Reginald Bing-Wo, P.Eng., FEC

Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan
Regulating the professions. Protecting the public.

T 306-525-9547 F 306-525-0851 Toll Free 1-800-500-9547

APEGS acknowledges that it regulates the engineering and geoscience professions in the jurisdiction of Saskatchewan which is comprised of portions of lands from Treaties 2, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 10, the territories of the Nêhiyawak (Cree), Anihšināpēk (Salteaux), Dene, Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda nations, and the homeland of the Métis Nation.