APEGS Council & Staff

APEGS is governed by a council of elected members and two public appointees who are appointed according to The Engineering and Geoscience Professions Act by a Lieutenant Governor Order in Council, upon recommendation of the minister responsible for the Act. The public appointees are full members of APEGS’ council with voice and vote equal to the elected members of council. All members of council must adhere to the Council Code of Conduct.

Council is accountable for administering the affairs of APEGS and the requirements of The Engineering and Geoscience Professions Act. Council also brings proposals to the government to ensure that the public interest remains protected as the practices of engineering and geoscience change. The role of the public appointees is to represent the public in the self-regulation of the professions of engineering and geoscience by bringing an external viewpoint and transparency to the governance and regulation of the professions. The act requires that one of the public appointees sits on the Investigation Committee and the other on the Discipline Committee.

Council meets five or six times a year to govern the affairs and business of APEGS. The Executive Committee has been established to direct APEGS on urgent matters between Council meetings.

2022 Notes from Council


Interested in reading older notes from council? Visit our archives page to find notes dating back to 2017.

APEGS Council – 2022/2023

President John W. Desjarlais, P.Eng.
President-Elect Greg F. Vogelsang, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
Vice-President Erin A. Moss Tressel, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
Past President Kristen J. Darr, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.)
Councillors Carolyn M. Emperingham, P.Eng.
Ian G. Farthing, P.Eng.
Gavin K.S. Jensen, P.Geo.
Danae N.T. Lemieux, P.Eng.
Patricia D. Lung, P.Eng.
Trent M. Nelson, P.Eng.
Kevin L. Ness, P.Eng., FEC
Aaron V. Phoenix, PhD, P.Eng., FEC
Ashok N. Thakkar, P.Eng., FEC
Public Appointees Larry Doke
Appointments to National Organizations Kevin M. Ansdell, P.Geo., FEC (Hon.), FGC
Ernest M. Barber P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)


Stormy Holmes, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)

Executive Director and Registrar

Sharon Evaniew, Executive Assistant

Sheena August
Sheena August

Director of Communications

Ferguson Earnshaw
Ferguson Earnshaw, P.Eng.

Director of Information Technology

Kate MacLachlan
Kate MacLachlan, Ph.D., P.Geo., FEC (Hon.), FGC

Director of Registration

Tina Maki
Tina Maki, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)

Deputy Registrar

Gina McGinn
Gina McGinn, MA, ICD.D

Corporate Secretary

Barbara Miller
Barbara Miller, FEC (Hon.), FGC (Hon.)

Director of Finance and Operations

Delee Silvius
Delee Silvius, P.Eng.

Assistant Director of Registration

Chris Wimmer
Chris Wimmer, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)

Director of Investigation and Compliance