APEGS is governed by a council of elected members and two public appointees who are appointed according to The Engineering and Geoscience Professions Act by a Lieutenant Governor Order in Council, upon recommendation of the minister responsible for the Act. The public appointees are full members of APEGS’ council with voice and vote equal to the elected members of council. All members of council must adhere to the Council Code of Conduct.

Council sets the strategy, ensures that the strategy is delivered, and governs APEGS in accordance with The Engineering and Geoscience Professions Act. Council also brings proposals to the government to ensure that the public interest remains protected as the practices of engineering and geoscience change. The role of the public appointees is to represent the public in the self-regulation of the professions of engineering and geoscience by bringing an external viewpoint and transparency to the governance and regulation of the professions. The act requires that one of the public appointees sits on the Investigation Committee and the other on the Discipline Committee.

Meetings & Decisions

Council meets five or six times a year to govern the affairs and business of APEGS. The Executive Committee has been established to direct APEGS on urgent matters between Council meetings.

Record of Decisions

Record of Decisions June 2022

Council Notes February 2022


Interested in reading older notes from council? Visit our archives page to find notes dating back to 2017.

2022/2023 Council

The president, president-elect, immediate past president and vice-president hold office for a term of one year after having served as a council member for at least a three-year term. All other councillors hold office for a three-year term with the ability to run for a second three-year term.

John Desjarlais, P.Eng.
President (1-Year Term)
Greg Vogelsang, P.Eng., P.Geo.,

President-Elect (1-Year Term)
Erin Moss Tressel, P.Eng., P.Geo.,

Vice-President (1-Year Term)
Kristen Darr, P.Geo., FGC,
FEC (Hon.)

Past President (1-Year Term)
Carolyn Emperingham, P.Eng.
(2nd Year)
Ian Farthing, P.Eng.
(3rd Year)
Gavin Jensen, P.Geo.
(2nd Year of 2nd Term)
Danae Lemieux, P.Eng.
(1st Year of 2nd Term)
Patricia Lung, P.Eng.
(3rd Year)
Trent Nelson, P.Eng.
(2nd Year)
Kevin Ness, P.Eng., FEC
(1st Year)
Aaron Phoenix, PhD, P.Eng., FEC
(3rd Year)
Ashok Thakkar, P.Eng., FEC
(2nd Year)
Richelle Andreas
Public Appointee
Larry Doke
Public Appointee
Appointments to National Organizations

Kevin Ansdell, P.Geo., FEC (Hon.), FGC

Ernest Barber, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)