Brian Eckel Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1978 to recognize outstanding contributions in service to the community, the Association, technical and learned organizations, as well as to honour distinctive and outstanding achievements in professional and technical fields. The Distinguished Service Award is an honour given only to those who truly exemplify the best standards of engineering and geoscience in Saskatchewan.

In 2004 this award was renamed the Brian Eckel Distinguished Service Award in recognition of Brian Eckel’s contribution to society, the profession and the Association.

Selection criteria for the Brian Eckel Distinguished Service Award:
  • Accomplishments in Engineering / Geoscience (35%)
  • Service to the professions in public education and/or active participation in engineering/geoscience associations, societies, institutes (35%)
  • Service to the community (30%)
Past Distinguished Service Award Winners

2024   Dr. Terry Fonstad, P.Eng., P.Ag., FEC, FGC (Hon) (View video here.)
2023   No Recipient
2022 Dr. Daniel Brisbin, P.Geo. (View video here.)
David MacDougall, P.Geo. (View video here.)
2020 Dennis Paddock, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.) (View video here.)
2019 Kenneth G. Linnen, P.Eng., FEC (View video here.)
2018 Louis-Pierre Gagnon, P.Eng.
2017 Dwayne Gelowitz, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2016 Albert O. Munro, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2015 Arthur L. Opseth, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2014 Don C.K. Poon, P.Eng.
2013 Kenneth B. From, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2012 Clarence A. Reed, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2011 Karim W. Nasser, Ph.D., P.Eng.
2010 Peter F. Miller, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2009 Jon A. Gillies, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2008 Margaret Kuzyk, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2007 Myron Herasymuik, P.Eng., FEC
2006 Derrick E. Bellows, P.Eng., FEC
2005 Philip L. Reeves, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
2004 Daniel M. Hogan, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2003 Brian F. Eckel, P.Eng., P.Geo. (Posthumously)
2002 Bland G. Brown, P.Eng., FEC
2001 Frances M. Haidl, P.Geo., FEC (Hon.), FGC
2000 Donald M.J. Kent, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
1999 James J. McCartan, P.Eng., FEC
1998 R. Lal Kushwaha, P.Eng., FEC
1997 Garry Wacker, P.Eng., FEC
1996 Gerry C. Zoerb, P.Eng., FEC
1995 W. Bruce H. Cooke, P.Eng.
1994 A. Wayne Clifton, P.Eng., FEC
1993 Delwyn G. Fredlund, P.Eng.
1992 No Recipient
1991 H. Keith Bowers, P.Eng., FEC, Owen R. Mann, P.Eng.
1990 Al J. Schwinghamer, P.Eng., FEC
1989 Peter N. Nikiforuk, P.Eng.
1988 Oscar W. Hanson, P.Eng.
1987 James P. Hutch, P.Eng., FEC
1986 Allan Tubby, P.Eng.
1985 Richard C. Strayer, P.Eng., FEC
1984 Pieter Van Vliet, P.Eng., FEC
1983 E. Bruce Campbell, P.Eng.
1982 No Recipient
1981 J. Robert Genereux, P.Eng., William R. Staples, P.Eng.
1980 No Award
1979 John B. Mantle, P.Eng.