McCannel Award

The McCannel Award was established in 1983 to honour service to the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan, and to the Professions as a whole. The McCannel Award is named after Roy McCannel, a founding member of the Association.

Selection criteria for the McCannel Award:
  • Accomplishments in engineering/geoscience (20%)
  • Service to the professions in public education and/or active participation in engineering/geoscience associations, societies, institutes (70%)
  • Service to the community (10%)
Past McCannel Award Winners

2024   Dr. Sumith Kahanda, P.Eng. (View video here)
2023   Dr. Shahid Azam, P.Eng. (View video here)
Frank McDougall, P.Geo. (View video here)
2021 Harold Retzlaff, P.Eng. (View video here)
2020 Matthew Dunn, P.Eng. (View video here)
2019 Kevin W. Hudson, P.Eng., FEC (View video here)
2018 Catherine L. Borbely, P.Eng.
2017 Rick B. Kullman, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2016 Malcolm J. Reeves, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
2015 Dena W. McMartin, P.Eng., FEC
2014 Douglas J. Kozusko, P.Eng.
2013 Timothy A.G. Jansen, P.Eng., FEC
2012 Harry A. Sabier, P.Eng., FEC
2011 Albert O. (Bert) Munro, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2010 David L. Halliday, P.Eng., FEC
2009 J. Manuela Yu, P.Eng., MBA, FEC
2008 Philip Olson, P.Geo.
2007 Debra Anderson, P.Eng., FEC
2006 Barry D. Collins, P.Geo., FEC (Hon.), FGC
2005 Prof. Arthur L. Opseth, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2004 Bryan T. Schreiner, P.Eng., P.Geo., FEC, FGC
2003 Neil W. Richardson, P.Eng.
2002 Brian K. Bowes, P.Eng.
2001 Raymond S. Pentland, P.Eng., FEC
2000 Douglas R. Sanders, P.Eng., FEC
1999 Edward E. H. Easton, P.Eng.
1998 James F. Sadler, P.Eng., FEC
1997 Norman O. Woodcock, P.Eng., FEC
1996 Dennis K. Storer, P.Eng., FEC
1995 Karen A. Keily, P.Eng.
1994 Ralph L. Cheesman, P.Eng.
1993 Taras Cheberiak, P.Eng.
1992 No Recipient
1991 Edward A. Wilson, P.Eng.
1990 William A. Bullee, P.Eng., FEC
1989 No Recipient
1988 J. Bruce Hamilton, P.Eng.
1987 Roy E. Ludwig, P.Eng.
1986 Howard Douglas, P.Eng.
1985 Barclay F. Dahlstrom, P.Eng., FEC
1984 Reginald Bing-Wo, P.Eng., FEC